BALANGKAS, ATBP.

Samot-sari tungkol sa balangkas ng kahit ano, at kung ano-ano pa

Project: Comparative Syntactic Descriptions of Philippine Languages

with 5 comments

Invitation to participate

I am looking for a native speaker of any of the following languages: Ilokano, Sebuwano, Waray, and Pangasinense, who is interested in collaborating with me to develop a syntactic analysis of their language that is directly comparable to the syntax of Tagalog. The grammar can be used to develop “bridging” strategies between the two languages.

The task is easier than it may appear to be. The Tagalog side is all laid out in the book “Gramatikang Filipino: Kayarian.” Since Philippine languages are similar in many ways — in word order, argument structure, phrase structure, modification, clause combining, and so forth — I expect the task to mainly involve methodically and systematically generating comparable constructions in your language using the survey-type questionnaire that I am preparing, based on the table of contents of the Kayarian book, and writing the description, of course. See the Tagalog table of contents here.

The grammar will be written in English.

Alas, the project has no external funding. We pay for our own expenses.

Ideally the person is a language teacher associated with a university. I have set my eyes on the following university cities: Dagupan, Laoag, Tagbilaran, and Tacloban. Formal training in syntactic analysis is not a requirement, but will help; knowledge of general grammar concepts (such as sentence, predicate, noun, clause, and the like) is a must. Deep intuition about how your language works and ability to express this intuition will help accuracy and speed up progress.

The division of work is flexible. If you can use the grammar as a thesis for a graduate program, you will do the wirting and I will serve as a (free and unofficial) consultant-adviser. You own the intellectual rights. If your commitments prevent you from serving any more than in the capacity of an informat, you will appear as the secondary author, and we both own the rights. Or anything in between between these extremes. The constant here is that you generate the data, and I will be responsible for data organization and the form of presentation.

Work can start anytime. I will send you a survey-type document to assist you in data generation. In this phase, we can do collaboration using the internet. In the writing phase, I will relocate to your city. Why else would I choose a university in a beach city?

My constraint is that I can only participate in the writing phase from December 1st of this year to the end of February 2012? Aggressive schedule? You bet. Data must be ready before the start, of course. I can only do one language (at a time).

Projects are not guaranteed success, such as their nature. I am very confident that this one will be a success.

The project is a part of a personal project to develop comparative syntactic descriptions of Philippine languages.

Reply below, or send me an email: restycena@gmail.com.

Written by Resty Cena

September 27, 2011 at 12:30 am

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Interesting, Dr. Cena. This is very interesting.

    Tell me, are you for the national language or not.

    I am more than willing to help you with Waray if you look at my language with equal respect with that of yours.

    voltaire oyzon

    September 27, 2011 at 9:54 am

    • Thank you for your interest in the project, and for the offer of help. Actually, I am the one offering help to a native speaker to write the grammar of their language. It is only when the prospective collaborator, for one reason or another, cannot devote the time to do the actual writing, that I take over. But I see that since you are in research, this is a natural project for you to lead.

      That said, my first preference is Dagupan, since it is closer to home. If no Dagupenyo accepts the challenge, Tacloban is a great place. How’s beachcombing in the months of December – February? Much depends on this first project. If the time estimate is correct, I can do the next language in August – October.

      I find your Waray experiment paper very interesting.

      Will you be attending the UP linguistic conference in December? Coffee in a dark brown bottle on me, how’s that?

      Resty Cena

      September 27, 2011 at 7:28 pm

  2. Good day! I am Eugene Carmelo Pedro, a native Ilocano speaker. I would like to help with the work in Ilocano. I am not a language teacher but I think I have the needed knowledge to help with the work since I have been reading materials on Ilocano grammar and been comparing them with actual samples of written Ilocano and with my own Laoagueno dialect.

    Eugene

    September 29, 2011 at 5:40 am


Leave a Reply

